• info@groupwisesync.com

Synchronisation Modes

Below you will find the details of the different synchronisation modes supported by the subscription service of GroupWiseSync.
Users on the free service will see an "unsupported sync mode" message on their device if they attempt to use one of the additional synchronisation modes.
Not all devices support these synchronisation modes, and there may be some devices that allow you to use synchronisation modes that are not supported by GroupWiseSync.

Normal
This is the standard two-way synchronisation mode supported by all devices.

Only data that has been added, modified, or deleted, either on the device or on Google, will be synchronised to the opposite platform.

Slow
The Slow synchronisation mode is supported by all devices (although not all devices will allow you to select this mode manually).
This synchronisation mode is always initiated on the first sync with GroupWiseSync, in order to allow the information on both the device and Google to be synchronised and matched up.

During a slow synchronisation the device will send all of its data to GroupWiseSync regardless of whether it has been modified. GroupWiseSync will then compare this data with the GroupWise Calendar data and will match the data up on a field by field basis. GroupWiseSync will then add any GroupWise events to the device if they are not found by the device client.

Most devices, once a slow sync has been performed successfully, will automatically change the synchronisation mode to Normal for the next sync. This allows subsequent syncs to proceed faster and more efficiently.

However, in the event of a sync failure, both the device client and GroupWiseSync have the ability to force a slow synchronisation in order to ensure all of the data is correctly matched and synchronised.

Update Device
The Update Device synchronisation mode is a one-way only synchronisation from GroupWise to the device.

Using this synchronisation mode will cause the device client to ignore all changes made on the device and will only synchronise changes and additions made to the GroupWise Calendar down to the device.

Please note that if this mode is selected on certain devices when a slow sync must be forced by the server (the very first sync or a sync after a failure), then the device can perform the slow sync equivalent of an Update Device. This means that a Reload Device will be performed, removing all of your device data and forcing the GroupWiseSync server to send the GroupWise data to your device.

In order to prevent this your device must be set to Normal or Slow for the first sync with GroupWiseSync or if a sync has previously failed.

Update Server
The Update Server synchronisation mode is a one-way only synchronisation from the device to GroupWise.

Using this synchronisation mode will force GroupWiseSync to ignore all changes made to the GroupWise Calendar and will only synchronise changes and additions made on the device.

Reload Device
The Reload Device synchronisation mode is only available on a few devices. It is a refresh mode of a one-way only synchronisation from GroupWise to the device.

The devices that support this mode will warn you about its use before the sync will begin.

Using this sync mode will force the device client to erase all of your devices calendar data, and will then force GroupWiseSync to send all of the GroupWise information, within the synchronisation window, down to the device.